The House

Know Your Parliament
The House

The Federal House of Representatives is one of the two Chambers that make up the Bicameral Legislature of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.  It is made up of 360 Members representing each of the Federal Constituencies of the country.  Members of the Green Chamber, as it is popularly referred to are duly elected for a term of four years.


It is presided over by the Speaker, who is assisted by the Deputy Speaker and eight Principal Officers.  They include Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority Leader, Deputy Minority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Whip.


Since the Green Chamber equally operates the Committee System of Legislature, the 360 Members of the house are divided into several Special and Standing Committees based on their professional, educational and other experiences.  The Committees are chaired by Chairmen who are assisted by Vice Chairmen and other Committee Members.  The Committees conduct Legislative assignments on behalf of the Chamber and report their findings along with recommendations to the entire house for final decision.

Aside the discharge of its core mandate of lawmaking, representation and oversight, the House of Representatives has been a stabilizing force in the promotion of the nation’s democratic ideals, good governance and most importantly the resolution of industrial disputes between the Federal, State Governments and the Labour Unions.


Accordingly, the house has waded into the disputes between the Judicial Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN), Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) and a host of other professional Unions under the Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC).



Share this Post: